Skip to main content

2017 Annual Construction Management Awards Banquet

EKU Construction Management graphic

EKU Construction Management faculty and staff hosted the 11th Annual Recognition Banquet on April 20, 2017, to honor outstanding students, as well as those individuals and companies who have demonstrated exemplary service. This year’s reception and dinner was held in Arlington's Mule Barn. EKU President Michael Benson was on hand to greet guests and make opening remarks.

Banquet host Scott Arias recognized graduating students and presented scholarships and awards to students and alumni for outstanding achievement. For the past year, 100 percent of graduates were placed within nine months of graduation around the country. More important is that students are performing well and there are more jobs than students. 

Richard Brooker Dedication

Richard Brooker photoIn memory of Dr. Richard Brooker, founder of EKU's Construction Management program, a bronze plaque has been commissioned for display in the Construction Management suite. The plaque, which will commemorate his life and impact on scholarship past, present and future, will read: Founder of EKU’s Construction Management Program. He was respected and admired by students, colleagues, and industry professionals as a teacher and leader in the field of construction management education. A mentor to students, alumni and faculty, his influence and guidance reached far beyond the classroom and the state of Kentucky. The Association of General Contractors (AGC) has endowed a scholarship in Dr. Richard Brooker’s name to be awarded to construction management students who display academic excellence and superb professionalism. 

Keynote Speaker: Brett Goode

Brett Goode photoThe 2016-17 distinguished alumnus, Mr. Brett Goode, began his career as an Intern with Gray Construction in 1997. Upon graduation from EKU with a BS in Construction Management, he was hired full time as a Field Engineer on the Gap jobsite in Gallatin, Tenn. Brett has served Gray in multiple capacities consisting of Assistant Project Manager, Project Manager, Senior Project Manager, Project Director, Regional Manager and currently, Vice President in Charlotte, N.C. He has also serves on the EKU Industry Advisory Board. His contributions have been instrumental in the sale and execution of many core projects over the last several years, including Siemens Energy, Inc., SumikaPolymer Compounds America, Inc., Michelin North America, Inc., and, most recently, ZF Transmissions. 

Scholarship winners from the Construction Management program were recognized amidst their peers.

More photos on the CM Facebook page...


Outstanding Senior - Clayton McAlmond

Construction Management's outstanding senior for 2016-17 is Clayton McAlmond. Clayton transferred to EKU when he knew that his chosen career path would be construction management. Among his many accomplishments, aside from a 3.5 GPA, are Brooker Scholarship and the Dean's and President's lists. Clayton is the Student Contractors Association Vice President and member of the ASC Region 3 Preconstruction Competition. He has earned his welding certifications and has already been promoted to full time estimator with his company where he helped estimate and win many large process piping jobs.

President Volunteer Service Award

Students receiving the President Volunteer Service Award were recognized: Zachary M. Anderson, Cody B. Baker, William E. Catron, Paul T. Coulter, Jacob R. Creech, Brady N. Foley, Bryan F. Hall, Michael L. Hensley, Everett L. Hood, Josh S. Jewell, James C. Jones, Spencer R. Karrick, Jeanne A. Kelly, Jamie C. Lake, Christopher J. Leiter, Clayton J. McAlmond, Jim M. Rees, Lucas D. Reynolds, Matthew D. Rose, William T. Samples, Chase C. Shea, George B. Sisselberger, Tyler W. Skaggs, Zachary H. Smith, Zachery T. Snyder, Vivian L. Sowder, Matthew T. Tackach, Luke M. Wurzelbacher and Jeffrey T. Zukowitz.

Distinguished Alum

Each year, CM faculty selects s distinguished alum that has made outstanding contributions to the program and industry. This year's award was presented to Mr. Brett Goode.

Hall of Fame Constructor

The Hall of Fame Award is given to recognize a contractor that is highly respected, has a successful business model and is an advocate for the EKU CM program. Based on these three factors, Denham-Blythe was selected as this year's Hall of Fame Constructor. 

Since 1976, Denham-Blythe has provided design/build services to a variety of clients across the United States and Mexico. From small businesses to fortune 500 companies, Denham-Blythe has a diverse project portfolio including customers from many sectors such as industrial, healthcare, automotive, distribution, food processing, pharmaceutical, and commercial. Denham-Blythe is a “true” design/build firm whose employees include construction managers, over 100 site managers and craft personnel, along with a sizable in house design department including civil, structural, architectural, mechanical, and electrical licensed professionals.  The Denham-Blythe design/build approach typically saves the customer significant time and money while never sacrificing the company’s core values of safety and professionalism throughout the entire design and construction process.

Denham-Blythe has established a reputation of quality as evidenced by long standing customer relationships. Eighty-five percent of annual volume is with repeat clients, which is a testament to customer satisfaction commitment. As its customers have grown Denham-Blythe has grown to be a national design/build company with offices in Kentucky, Tennessee, and South Carolina.  However the company continues to actively maintain close relationships with our early clients in Madison County and Central Kentucky.

Coop of the Year

The Coop of the Year is presented to a student who has shown exemplary service to a company during their coop experience. This award recognizes that success is not just based on academic performance but in putting their skills to work. This year the recipients were Cody Baker and Tyler Skaggs

Brooker, AGC-KY Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes the excellence and dedication of students enrolled in the Construction Management Program in the Department of Applied Engineering and Technology. It is named in honor of Dr. Richard A. Brooker, who in 1977, along with the AGC of Kentucky, helped to establish the Bachelor of Science degree program initially titled Construction Technology. Receiving the scholarship this year was Alex Grenke.

Murray S. Riffe Scholarship, HBA-KY

The Murray S. Riffe / Home Builders Association of Kentucky Scholarship is given in the memory of Mr. Riffee, a Georgetown, Ky., builder who was dedicated to the advancement of young people in the Kentucky construction industry. Murray Riffee served as the President of the Home Builders Association of Kentucky in 1997. During his tenure he established the Association's Workforce Development Task Force, which eventually became the Kentucky Construction Career Choice Council, made up of seven different construction associations. Riffee was named to the Kentucky Housing Hall of Fame in 2000. Receiving the scholarship this year was Tucker Houston.

R.L. "Bob" Erekson CM Scholarship

The Bob Erekson Scholarship was created by College of Business and Technology Dean Tom Erekson to honor a student who manages work, school and family expectations. With the unique challenges of juggling these three pieces of life the married student selected has to achieve academic success, while funding his or her own education. This year's recipient was Spencer Karrick.

Published on April 20, 2017

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/